Gratitude, week 5

I’m sitting here in a quiet house, K still snoring away while I consume a piping hot bowl of pumpkin pie spiced oatmeal, our loving companion animals snuggling peacefully, and I feel an overwhelming sense of gratitude. I decided, as a part of this journey, which is certain to be filled with many bumps along the way, to start a weekend gratitude series.

During our fifth week of pregnancy, I am grateful for:

  • K not (yet?) exhibiting some of the more uncomfortable signs of pregnancy.
  • Having the ability and privilege to be able to be on this journey toward forming the family we wish to have, when so many people are struggling, unable to feed and house their families. These families are definitely in my heart.
  • K and I being patient and kind to ourselves and each other. While we’re both so tired from twice weekly early morning RE tests and K being in his first trimester, some of our weekly chores and some of the fun things we’d like to do have fallen by the wayside, and that’s okay. It’s important to remember that it takes a lot of effort to grow a human, and we only have so much energy to go around.

I was about to conclude this list when my cat just fell off of our table, which reminded me of another item for which I’m grateful: the simple joy and uplifting nature of laughter. Thanks, kitty!

Leave a Reply

