Overscheduled and overwhelmed

I feel so terribly guilty complaining about how exhausted I am, when I’m not the one with hormones coursing through my veins and every ounce of energy devoted to growing a wee person’s vital organs. That being said, I am CRISPY! Things at work are really quite hectic these days and when I glance at our upcoming weekends, all I see are booked-solid commitments until mid-October, leaving very little down-time for decompression. I even ended up canceling plans with our dearest friends last night, just so I could try to get caught up on some rest.

I feel like K thinks he’s mostly so drained from Falco, but I can’t imagine that all of our social commitments are really helping matters. We’re more scheduled now than we were throughout our entire spring and summer! When we get home after a long day of work, we look at each other, know we should do a chore or two, and then end up collapsing on the couch. Worse yet is that K’s “morning” sickness mostly hits him during the late afternoon and early evening, making him completely disinterested in dinner. These days, since dinner isn’t a time for familial bonding, we grab whatever sounds good (or in K’s case, least gross) to us before making our way to the couch, where we pretty much stay for the remainder of the night, save for human or canine bodily needs.

How do you find ways to destress as a family?

5 thoughts on “Overscheduled and overwhelmed

  1. I’m not sure if I have ways to de-stress as a family but I can tell you how important I found it to de-stress myself. I would fall under the weight of “I’m not carrying the baby who am I to complain” when, in retrospect, pregnancy takes an equal toll on you as a partner and the primary source of support for the family. Finding your recovery mechanism will help you both. Don’t underestimate your equal partnership in this!

  2. I second what Meridith said above. This is happening to us! And while our expereinces are different as gestational and non-gestational parents, expecting a child is a huge life changing experience so you’re allowed to feel tired and overwhelmed too! However, knowing what I know I think work had really been tiring you out lately. I love you and only 1 more day until the WEEKEND.

  3. I wonder if there’s something in the air right now? Me and MIn were just talking about this! We are both up to our elbows in obligations until mid October and we even contemplated post-poning a 2 day vacation because of the craziness! Then I was like HELL NO, we need this now more than ever! It’s really hard… it gets frustrating when life gets so busy because other things fall by the wayside and then when you attempt to take care of it, you end up overspending (on groceries or eating out), “wasting” a day or two catching up on cleaning the house, and/or putting off good friends until tomorrow, and then the next! I don’t know the answer to your question, but it definitely helps me to not feel so alone hearing someone else voice the craziness in their life as well! ;D hugs and kisses to you!

Leave a Reply

