Things WERE going well

I thought that K was easily transitioning into the ease of second trimester. Nausea and exhaustion was becoming a thankful thing of the past. He was no longer running to the restroom every five minutes with a screaming bladder that was demanding his attention. I was looking forward to eating dinner together again and spent a near mint on groceries for the upcoming week.

Then, last night, while I was cheerfully preparing one of my favorite fall meals, spaghetti squash with marinara, sautéed peppers, mushrooms and Italian chicken sausage, I heard K make a beeline from our bedroom to the bathroom. A fraction of a second later, I heard the poor guy throwing up. He’d taken a lovely Sunday afternoon nap, likely went a wee bit too long between snacks, and awoke with a terrible migraine and nausea.

I, of course, knocked on the door and asked if I could do anything or fetch him water, and he said no. Whenever he feels sick, especially throughout his pregnancy so far, I feel so darn helpless. I would do literally anything to absorb the morning sickness to give him a break. I just wish there was something I could DO!

One of our kitties knew just what to do to lift our spirits. I spotted him curled into a tiny ball in the bassinet my dad had made for be as a baby. Even a very green K cracked a smile. Hopefully, kitty will bring a smile to your face, too.

The cat's in the cradle.

7 thoughts on “Things WERE going well

  1. Don’t know if you’ve tried it yet, but ginger tea helped me with the morning sickness; if K tolerates tea, then he should give it a try. hopefully a little longer into the 2nd trimester nauseas disappear.

  2. It stills comes and goes but last night’s 4-5 hour disaster was the worst so far. I’m pretty sure it was just from lack of food and a migrane. If I don’t eat very 2.5 to 3 hours I’m screwed!

  3. This is a comment that is unrelated to your post. Last night, I was lying in bed next to Tyler trying to go to sleep and suddenly my eyes popped open and I gasped aloud. And then I said “But what will Falco’s dad do about paternity clothes? They don’t make paternity clothes! And what if he has to keep buying bigger and bigger pants? Those would be expensive!!!” I really became worried for you. Tyler reassured me that a) many men get “pot bellies” so pants are equipped to deal with this, and that they also make pants with elastic waists… but still. I had just never thought of that. Maybe a weird concern on my part, but you were on my mind.

    • Thanks for the kind thoughts. I’m sure we’ll eventually write a post about this, but K recently broke down and bought a Bellaband, which should be shipped out from Amazon. At the beginning of September, we bought larger work pants (which I lovingly call his “manternity pants”) for K from a local outlet store. They have a stretchy waistband, but will obviously only accommodate SO much girth. Eventually, we’re going to have to buy some actual maternity pants, ones that are hopefully as gender neutral as possible. We’re going to buy some larger button down shirts and sweaters from a chubby guy store that will hopefully get us by until the end of April or beginning of May.

Leave a Reply

