Blasting the closet door open

Well, we’re definitely a LOT more out about our pregnancy this morning than we were 24 hours ago. K has been working to draft a private message to send via Facebook to people we trust, and he officially hit “send” last evening. Below is the message we sent to 38 (!!!!!!) people:

“Greetings friends,

C and I are thrilled to announce that we are expecting the arrival of our first child at the end of April!

Last year we began discussing all the ways we could bring children into our lives.  Since C is unable to conceive, I decided to take the plunge and investigate if I would be able to conceive.  In December 2011, I stopped taking testosterone and we began working with a reproductive endocrinologist.  After preparing my body and undergoing various tests, we began trying to conceive in July and were successful on our second attempt. I’ve just entered my second trimester and everything is going great. I am so excited to become a dad and know C is going to make such a wonderful mama.

While this is obviously not the typical path toward parenthood, I feel very empowered about being able to utilize the tools I’ve been given in order to create the family we very much want. Thankfully, we’ve received a lot of support from our families and closest friends and we wanted to share our joy with other important folks in our lives. C and I knew at we could count on your understanding that, for the privacy and safety of our family, we’re not widely sharing this news publicly at this time.

Thank you so very much for all of the love and support you’ve always shown for our family.

Lots of love,
K and C”

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! Oh, and HOLY SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

K’s ass kept vibrating because my phone found its way there and our friends kept replying. I knew that no one would react poorly, and so far I’ve been right, but several have indicated that they screamed when they read the message. I guess we have fairly dramatic friends, but then again, like attracts like, doesn’t it?

4 thoughts on “Blasting the closet door open

    • IT TOTALLY IS! Every single time I think about how many people KNOW now, I get scared, but I also smile because I love knowing how many people are truly supportive of this process. It makes me feel secure that Falco will grow up in a very loving community. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Surprise disclosure | The Falco Project

Leave a Reply

