Gratitude, week 17

I can’t believe it’s been about 3 weeks since I’ve expressed my weekly gratitude! There’s always so much for which I’m thankful, not just during the upcoming Thanksgiving holidays, and I feel guilty for not having kept that top-of-mind recently. I am grateful for:

  • Being financially stable. We’re not wealthy by any stretch of the imagination, but I want to recognize the economic privilege we experience. None of this – from trying to conceive, to accessing healthcare, to affording baby items and man-ternity clothes, to feeding our baby – would be remotely possible. It’s really important to me to never forget this and to keep people who aren’t as fortunate in my heart and mind.
  • Having the ability to celebrate the upcoming holidays with people we love. We’re having Thanksgiving dinner with my in-laws, including my favorite of K’s aunts, and I am hopeful that we’ll have some conversations about pregnancy and our baby-to-be that will further normalize this experience for my mother-in-law. I think she’s really come a long way in her acceptance and understanding of this issue, but I’m sure that these conversations could only help this progress. On Friday, we’re headed up to visit my parents, where we’ll see my aunt and uncle, as well as my ailing grandmother, who is in advanced stages of dementia. It will be good to see them all again. It feels far to infrequent at times.
  • K finally feeling Falco move in a way that he can more reliably identify. Our weekly pregnancy update emails indicated that our little one is starting to hear loud sounds and might react by moving when s/he hears loud sounds like trains, car horns, etc. This information was especially timely because, on Friday evening, that’s exactly what happened. K was stuck driving the van home with the vanpool he shares with a group of 6 others. One of the vanpool members was late getting to his pickup location and the vanpool leader, who was sitting next to K, was yelling really loudly in Mandarin to the late vanpool member. During this ruckus, K felt Falco “swim” quickly, I imagine, to some safe corner of his uterus. Only we would experience such bizarre circumstances related to the first identifiable movement of our baby-to-be.
  • [I’m adding an extra gratitude, since it’s been so damn long since I expressed it!] FINALLY being able to see Falco again! This coming Friday, we’re having our anatomy scan and, if Falco cooperates, hopefully find out the sex of our baby-to-be! I’m so twitchy about this information and I can’t believe we’re finally going to know in less than a week! AHHHH!

 

4 thoughts on “Gratitude, week 17

  1. oh my gosh! I had no idea that K had felt the baby move (I might have missed a blog post?) ! SO cool! I’m just a few weeks behind…… hoping to feel that freaky movement sometime soon 🙂
    HAVE FUN at the anatomy scan!!

    • He hadn’t posted about it. What I posted was the first reference to it. Honestly, he’s so woefully behind in some of his posts and I don’t want to lose track of these milestones, so I periodically try to toss in a few summaries just in case.

      I can’t wait to read about your upcoming milestones! It’s so much fun to be going through this all together.

  2. Ooh, exciting that Falco is moving around!

    I often think about the economic privilege that this requires. If it weren’t for two decent jobs and Sea’s remarkable budgeting abilities, we wouldn’t be able to do any of this. Though it still frustrates me to spend $1000 a month on something that others can accomplish for free.

    Good luck with the anatomy scan!

    • I totally hear you about that frustration. It’s beyond maddening. I feel like it was hell trying to scrape it all together, keep our hopes high while barely breathing, hoping we wouldn’t have to do that same thing again the next month. Our last cycle, which was medicated and heavily monitored, was absolute emotional and financial hell. It worked, though, so that’s something.

Leave a Reply

