Sleeping at 19 weeks

When I first found out I was pregnant I suspected I would have all sorts of sleep troubles (even early on).  I’ve read that people can have insomnia and, of course back/hip/all over pain later in the pregnancy.  Thus far I haven’t had any sort of sleep issues (but I keep waiting for the other shoe to drop).

My biggest complaint is not sleeping on my back.  I know at some point during pregnancy I’m not supposed to sleep on my back anymore.  From what I’ve read when you lie on your back, the weight of your pregnant uterus slows blood to your heart, which reduces blood flow to the fetus.  I’m not really sure at what point this starts happening?

Anyway, my night goes something like this:

-curl up on my left side
-roll onto right side
-C elbows me because my pregnancy induced stuffy nose makes me snore (okay, not 100% true, C usually whispers sweetly if I’ll roll over)
-stumble to bathroom for pee #1
-left side
-right side
-lay on my back and sigh happily until my mind goes crazy imaging the oxygen, blood flow, and nutrients being cut off from Falco!  Agggggg!

Repeat this process about 3 or 4 times throughout the night.  *sigh*

4 thoughts on “Sleeping at 19 weeks

  1. I was just talking to my coworker who is 20 weeks pregnant and was panicking about sleeping on her back. She saw her OBGYN yesterday who said it’s really a non issue until maybe you’re 30 weeks, and even then, he said that your body will wake you up if something is wrong, i.e., you’re not getting enough blood. So, don’t panic! Just sleep normally 🙂

Leave a Reply

