Gratitude, week 20

There is always so much for which I feel grateful, even though I don’t always take the time to express it, and sometimes it is difficult to narrow down what to write here. This week, I want to express my gratitude for:

  • K’s hard uterus with a growing baby inside! Yesterday, K came close to give me a hug and I swear, his hard belly jabbed me in the gut. It was the first time this has happened and it’s a fun milestone to experience. K is also able to identify fetal movement much more reliably these days.
  • Feeling calm about impending motherhood. When you’re about to be a first-time parent, it can feel like there is just SO much information to learn and it isn’t possible to ever know enough. K and I went to a baby care and safety class yesterday afternoon and, while there was a fair share of irksome heterosexism and parenting gender stereotypes, not to mention a major skew toward breastfeeding and use of disposable diapers, I feel really empowered after the class. I realized that so much of the essential knowledge to care for our newborn already exists in my brain and that I truly can trust my instincts.
  • A wonderful community of gender variant gestational parents and parents-to-be! Yesterday, via Google+ Hangouts, K had a really outstanding video chat with a group of transgender gestational parents and hopeful parents. It was really great for him to be able to make these connections, share resources and hope, and encourage one another. Surprisingly, one hopeful couple lives just a couple of hours from us and we’re planning on getting together with them in-person in the not-too-distant future.

I sure am looking forward to all of the many things for which to feel grateful over the course of the next 20 weeks, give or take!

One thought on “Gratitude, week 20

  1. Stumbled across your blog and am excited to read about your adventures. I’ve found that you are right – there is no way to know enough … or “enough” of what the books all want you to know. But if your instincts are even halfway good, you end up making the right choices for you, the baby, and your family anyway. Congrats on the halfway point!

Leave a Reply

