Adios, 2012!

I feel like K and I spent half of 2012 in doctors’ offices in our quest to conceive and the other half worrying about the entire process of becoming parents. What if K’s cycle won’t return after so many years of being on testosterone? What if we won’t become pregnant? What if we can’t afford the entire process of trying to become parents? What if we’re pregnant? What if something’s wrong with the baby? What if K barfs for literally 9 months? What if we aren’t prepared to become parents? Is that pain normal? Is that gas or Falco moving? What if we’re having a boy? Am I going to be able to handle the fact that Michigan does not currently allow second parent adoption or view me as legally related to this child? The list is endless and contains both silly and very sobering fears.

2013 will bring about some terrifying and exhilarating changes. Those who know me well are aware that change is not typically my bestie, but I am really looking forward to being a mom and know that I will get through all of the challenges because we are tough cookies who have an amazing support system. I have a handsome and phenomenal partner (truly, you all should be jealous) who loves me and walks through this life with me as the world’s best teammate. K and I have treasured family members, both given and chosen, who are always there for us, even at the drop of a hat like our dear friend M did over the weekend when I suddenly realized that I had no idea how I was going to carry all of the heavy IKEA purchases we’d just made for the nursery. K and I often feel like the luckiest people in this world, and we’re so grateful for that.

Bring it, 2013. We’ve got this.

One thought on “Adios, 2012!

  1. I’m glad it’s been such a successful year. I think 2013 will be a truly THRILLING year! Also, I want to know more about this “Am I going to be able to handle the fact that Michigan does not currently allow second parent adoption or view me as legally related to this child?” WHATTTTTTTTTTTT we have to change these dumb ass laws.

Leave a Reply

