Almost 33 weeks

Hey everyone.  I haven’t posted much in the past few weeks, mainly because things have been going pretty well.  The first few weeks (28, 29, 30…) of the third trimester have been pretty chill, but all of a sudden I feel like I’ve hit a wall.  I’m just feeling really exhausted and really irritable.  My body is irritating me, my emotional/mental state is irritating me, and worst of all—the world (people in general) are driving me nuts.  

Here comes my complaint session:  

Between my desk job and daily 2 hour commute my back is feeling really messed up.  Before I was pregnant I would get strange upper back pains, cramping and muscle spasms which I attributed to years of binding my chest.  This has been getting worse and I’m thinking about looking into prenatal massage or chiropractics or something…?  

I’ve also been feeling a lot of pelvic pressure.  Every time I stand up it’s like “Whoa gravity!”  I really just expected pregnancy to feel like being fat/fatter.  I’m serious!  I’ve been lots of different weights in my life so I just assumed pregnancy would just feel like getting bigger.  I’m not sure why I didn’t consider that I’d mainly be getting bigger in one area…lol  I’ve gained about 25 pounds so far and it all currently feels like it’s in my uterus and pressing on my bladder and pelvis.  This is concerning at 33 weeks since this kiddo hasn’t even dropped yet!!  

I’ve also been having insomnia.  I wake up at around 1am and stay up until about 4am.  I have no idea why, because it’s not like I’m anxious or stressed or in pain when I sleep.  Actually sleeping is one of my favorite things to do lately.  So, I get up and hang out in the baby’s room in the rocking chair and read for a few hours.  

I’ve also been having strange food/eating issues.  I was crazy and picky in the first trimester.  I felt like I ate normally in the second trimester.  Now, I’m hungry all the time but don’t want to eat anything or cook anything or even try to figure out what sounds good.  Food in general makes me grumpy.  I pretty much only want to eat fruit, crackers, and smoothies (which I guess also falls into the fruit category)  I’m trying so hard for Falco to get my veggies and proteins in!!

Lastly, being annoyed with people in general really makes me sad.  I feel like I’m a pretty patient person and normally I genuinely like people.  But…..these days the smallest thing makes my head spin.  I don’t want to be that person and I am really trying to take some quiet time each day to breathe and relax so I can face the world and all it’s stupidity with my normally kind heart.  

With 7 more weeks until the due date I better get used to some of these uncomfortable ailments.  I know it will all be worth it in the end.  

Thanks for listening to me whine.  

5 thoughts on “Almost 33 weeks

  1. You’re getting so close!!!
    And omg ” I pretty much only want to eat fruit, crackers, and smoothies” BINGO. ME TOO. All I want is the smoothie I make which isn’t really fruitish… it’s 1 cup of milk, 1 cup of ice, 4 large frozen strawberries, 1 tablespoon honey peanut butter, 1 tbsp chocolate chips, 1 splenda packet, and 1 tsp vanilla. It’s all I want. I only want that for dinner. I don’t want to go out for dinner. I don’t want anything else. And Crackers? How about Pretzels. I EAT THEM LIKE CRAZY. And fruit? Yes. Oranges. Bananas. MMMMMMMMMMM

    Okay, and the pelvic pressure, yea that’s weird. I don’t get it all the time yet, but sometimes I do and I feel like I need to lift my stomach up like she’s sitting so low. It’s the weirdest feeling, no?

    YOU CAN DO THIS. I am getting so excited for you both!

  2. I cant stop eating either….
    But I would HIGHLY recommend the Chiropractor. I feel like it helps me a lot. It can also help baby get into position if he/she isnt already there and opens up the pelvis and prevents back labour.
    I didnt go to one when I when I was pregnant with my first, and started during my second pregnancy and it made a whole world of difference in delivery. Just make sure they are trained in pre natal chiropractic care. Totally worth it tho.

  3. I’ve lost any desire for picking out food too. The husband gets pissy with my “I don’t care” answer to the what’s for dinner answer. But I really don’t. I’ll eat what’s put in front of me but I really could care less what it is.

    My insomnia is from 3-5ish every day. I really wish my body didn’t want to prepare me for sleepless nights. I’d much rather get all the sleep while I can, thank you very much!

    Almost to the end though – even if it feels pretty far away still!

  4. Everything you said could’ve come out of my life right now!!! That pelvic pressure is serious stuff, like a bowling ball is sitting at the edge of your lady parts about to bust through when you first stand up! Mornings especially, for me! My stomach turns to stone at night and I have no earthly idea what happens to my vagina, but it hurts when I stand up! And how can we be SO tired all the time then have insomnia?! I watch the clock at night until like 2am even though all day I’ve wanted to nap! We are in the home stretch!! Breathe!!!! And eat whatever the hell you want because you deserve it. Baby making is really hard.

  5. Yup! You’ve pretty much summed up the first half of my third trimester! I’m sorry to say, but it doesn’t get any easier from here on out. I recommend the chiropractor as well. Also, I have some stretches I do that have helped a bit. I really try not to whine on my blog about my physical discomforts, so I don’t know if I have mentioned the horrible nerve pain in the front of my pelvis. Yeowch! It is to the point that lifting my leg to put on pants is nearly impossible and I have to hold my breath and scream profanities in my head in order to get through it. I also didn’t think the weight gain would cause this much pain. I hope you find some relief soon and have an easier time sleeping!

Leave a Reply

