Like sands through the hourglass…

I can’t believe we’re nearing the finish line here. At yesterday’s appointment, our OB gave us the “it’s important to have your bags packed” and “if X happens, you should come to the hospital” speeches. I think it made the whole thing very real for K, who has been hearing from me these past couple of days, “No, really. We have to finish up these preparations soon because Falco could arrive whenever!” We’re on the weekly OB schedule now, for Pete’s sake!

We also heard that our 35+ week fetus already weighs approximately 7.5 lbs. You read that correctly. When the ultrasonographer referenced that estimate, I quite literally screamed an obscenity loudly enough for patients in the lobby to hear. BabyCenter’s weekly email says that our 35 weeker weighs approximately 5.25 lbs, whereas Everyday Family’s weekly email states that the baby is about 6 lbs. Even if the ultrasound is off, which is apt to happen, our kiddle is clearly bigger than average.

K’s blood pressure was also higher than normal (which I’m sure would never occur when one finds out their baby is already that large with ~5 weeks to go). Between the bp and his swollen ankles, the doc was really concerned about the possibility of pre-eclampsia. The OB ran some bloodwork and promised to call us with the results last night. We never heard from her, so we’re working on the hope that no news is good news. My thought is that K’s bp is elevated from being so miserably sick and taking a ton of cold meds, which have the tendency to raise one’s blood pressure.

I’m so glad the OB prescribed K some antibiotics, which he clearly needs right now, and I’m hopeful that they’ll start to kick in very soon. I think that it should be a biological impossibility for someone in their third trimester to get sick. It’s just cruel! It’s hard for K to breathe as it is, with Falco taking up some much real estate, and the congestion is making it so much worse! K keeps pitifully coughing and, every single time he does, he ends up having Braxton Hicks contractions.

I sure hope this little one stays put for a little while longer, but I’m starting to feel skeptical. I sure wouldn’t mind an Aries baby instead of a Taurus. We could use another fire sign in this family.

6 thoughts on “Like sands through the hourglass…

  1. Wowza, that’s a big baby! I hope Knoll feels better with the antibiotics. You are right, it’s cruel that he should get so sick in his third trimester. Grrr. Rest up the best you can, darlin. You’re at the finish line!!!

  2. Your getting sooo close now!! I had an ultrasound at 35 weeks 3 days and my little guy was weighing in at 6lbs 12oz… he was born last week at 37 weeks 6 days and weighed 9lbs!!!!!!!!!!! Can you believe that??? So I hope your ultrasound was off a little lol and that your little one is slightly smaller. Goodluck with the blood work. I am sure everything will be fine. 🙂

  3. Dont always trust the ultrasounds. A 37week one told me that Kahlan would be over 9lbs by birth and she was born at 6lbs 15oz – they cant always tell. Im sure everything will work out fine with the blood work too 🙂 And oh so exciting…so close!

  4. I hope K feels better soon! I ended up in the ER with norovirus my third trimester and wouldn’t wish anything like that on anyone. Also, my BP started spiking a little my last few weeks of appointments because of the exertion it took to move around the Braxton hicks. They like to check it first thing, which isn’t fair. Get your bags packed and the car seat in, yay!

  5. Holy moly, hopefully this will turn out to be one of those “ultrasound estimate” was so wrong stories. I’m really feeling for K. When I had that cold about 3 weeks ago, I had the same thing–Braxton Hicks contractions brought on by coughing, plus a dash to the restroom every time a fit started, as my bladder was powerless in the face of the force of the cough. Thankfully it resolved for me without antibiotics. Fingers crossed against pre-eclampsia. Here’s hoping Falco gets 38 weeks of cooking.

Leave a Reply

