Allergy update

When I referenced a potential horrible allergy to an ingredient in baby formula, so many of you have reached out to me with support, great ideas, and lots of love. I can’t even begin to express how much that means to me.

I figure I owed you all an update after my self-inflicted patch test. I am thrilled to report that none of the formula patches reacted in a notable way. Similac and Enfamil Newborn left a minor and temporary red mark, but nothing that lasted or itched in the way that tocopherol typically causes. Similac Sensitive and Gerber Good Start had no effect whatsoever. Ironically, because I am also allergic to adhesives, the only itchy reaction of note was the round outline of the bandages covering the patches.

My allergist was hopeful that this would be the outcome of my patch test because levels of tocopherol in food products are so much lower than that in beauty products. I’m still planning on being cautious and limiting my exposure as best I can, but I’m not going to freak out about it or go hog-wild in my paranoia.

In other news, so that this blog doesn’t turn into C’s Allergy Tracker 5000, I had a really nutty nesting urge over the weekend that translated into me hauling ass, organizing a bunch of stuff, doing chores, and getting much closer to the completion of our nursery. (I truly think that this world would be a much happier place if it was biologically possible for the more Type A person in a relationship to be the non-gestational partner. It’s so wonderfully practical!) As of today, the two finishing touches yet to complete are the purchase of a crib skirt and the construction of my “You Are My Sunshine” inspired mobile. I can’t wait to post photos! I’ll be really happy to have everything ready for our little one, especially since our estimated due date is officially one month from today.

It’s getting real, y’all!

8 thoughts on “Allergy update

  1. That’s great!! I also react to some bandages, ugh gluten. I feel like when we make the play date happen, I will wash W and I right before and make sure we have approved soap to use for hand washing, hahaha.

    The mobile sounds great and I can’t wait to see pictures!

  2. Hooray!!! I was definitely more type A and the gestational partner… it worked out pretty okay because rather than some kind of A-type overdrive, I got pregnancylazy and didn’t worry about half the stuff I usually do (at least during the first half of the pregnancy, when I was so often sick that I just didn’t care).

  3. Awesome! So glad your arm did not fall off 🙂
    And you two are on the move on your nursery stuff! We have NOTHING SET UP. NOT ONE THING. All because Tyler is painting canvas in there… and staining drawers… and it is a disaster construction zone. =\ I have to just stay out of there.

    • Don’t fret! You still have so much time! I knew that I would have to front-load the work on the nursery and other major projects as best I could because a large fundraiser I’m working on coincides with our due date and I’m already starting to feel the heat of that work.

  4. Awesome news on the allergy test! And I cant believe due date is getting sooo close. I am so excited for you guys! Cant wait to see the nursery!

Leave a Reply

